interesting...google debtors revolt starts now...click on any link....spyware software pops up

0 votes

could be with moores movie...they do not want to many seeing it...

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

As far as I can tell, it's only the ones that say only

"Debtors Revolt" in the title as the link text.

Anything other than that comes up fine for me.

But your problem is that you are using Google. Stop.

I tried the same results with StartPage and I didn't get any of those sites in my list. (Startpage is also known as ixquick)

Startpage is a secure web search that does not record your IP address. It also allows https searching. You can add it or ixquick (essentially the same thing) by going to their home pages and clicking the "add to my browser" link. It will then install the search engine into your browser's search bar and even gives you the option to start using it right away.

I can say after a few months of using it, the results are WAY better than what Google gave me as far as relevancy goes.

And there is the added bonus of non trackable searches, and less spyware spoof sites like this thread pointed out.

I made a video of what this looks like

I made a video for you guys so you know what NOT to do when you come across a page that pushes a rogue.

The video is just finalizing the upload to youtube so it may need another minute or so:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_NpVcRE0PAs

I can confirm this

It starts about half way down the first Google list. Not every link that
shows up is a browser hijack, but many are. Even one from China.

Go figure.

It's not a hijack, nor an

It's not a hijack, nor an exploit. The pages by themselves will not infect you.

The pages are HTML pages that look like a Microsoft Windows scanner. It pretends to scan files that don't actually exist on the computer and then when it's done it tells you that it found infected files. The program tells you (and may even trick you) into downloading AND INSTALLING the software.

It's pretty funny for me to get these fake pages on my Linux box. The scanner tells me it's scanning /windows/system32, but for some reason I just don't believe it...

Can you send me or post a

Can you send me or post a link? I work with malware for my job and I'm very interested in the links.

Edit -- Ok I found a couple.

The pages are pushing Rogue AV's and take advantage of 'black hat' SEO tactics.

Google has literally cached millions of 'fake' pages that do nothing but push rogue products. I work with these sites every single day.

Interesting thing is, these guys are so good that these malicious pages will appear one day and be gone the next. Sometimes the pages are only active for a very short time. The bad guys use automatic scripts to generate new versions of their products and automated techniques to buy and setup new domains.

.

for us guys that don't know computer speak, what is an SEO?

I just got the new Microsoft security essentials antivirus (full version released for free today) - Am I still gonna have computer aids when the scan is done?

Search Engine

Search Engine Optimization

If you are a company that sells anything on the internet, then it would be in your best interest to have search results display your page within the first page or two of Google results. There are companies who pay BIG money to people who can make their pages appear first.

Well bad guys use the same tactics to make their hijacked or infected pages appear in Google results. These guys are into blackhat (meaning bad) SEO... and they are good.

Many, many Google results will lead a user to a page that advertises rogue (fake) antivirus products.

Never buy an AV product because of a pop-up you receive while surfing the internet. Stick with reputable brands and names.

.

ah yes, I do know what that is. Thanks for slowing it down for us T-Rex typers.