SCRUBBED!! Yet another article claiming Obama is a foreigner
http://the.honoluluadvertiser.com/article/2006/Jan/08/ln/FP6...
Was this vetted by an editor?
I wonder who this guy is writing this.
Correction??? This article has been edited I saved a pdf of the page when I first viewed it this afternoon. Anyone know how to upload a pdf or a image file here? I could make a snippet of the paragraph in question.
Anyway, the text DID read like this at 4:45 pm central time.
Both were born outside the country — Obama in Indonesia,
Duckworth in Thailand — and graduated from high school in
Honolulu — Punahou and McKinley, respectively.
Currently it reads like this:
Both graduated from high schools in Honolulu — Punahou and McKinley, respectively.
Also, I misread the article date. The site has today's date on it but the byline shows Jan 8, 2006.
But this article has obviously been scrubbed.
UPDATE: The Google cache has also been reset to a version stamped Oct 16, 2009 00:56:05 GMT.
I pulled it up by searching the title of the article in quotes. This is all over the boards and all but the wikipedia entry on the first page are talking about this. Someone is covering their tracks.
UPDATE #2: turns out that the REAL domain name of the paper is www.honoluluadvertiser.com NOT the.honoluluadvertiser.com
Someone somewhere spoofed the page really good. But there is no result for that story anywhere in the archives of the www site.
Incidentally the real site comes back with a whois showing it is registered to Gannett out of Mclean, Va. which is of course a real newspaper company. The spoofed domain comes back as a "malformed request."
There is also no way I can find to reach the "the" domain from the "www" one. On the bottom of the "the" domain, several bottom links also contain "the" at the beginning, but this is not the case on the "www" domain.
Someone is yanking our chain. (or at least mine) And then they changed the article to make it look like someone was trying to hide something.
This was originally found on Rense.com if that's any indication.





















here is where someone who
here is where someone who would like to dig into these things should start.
Universities keep microfiche of newspapers. It is quite a bit harder to scrub microfiche than online articles
http://libweb.uoregon.edu/govdocs/micro/papers.htm
Columbia seems that they may
Columbia seems that they may have Microfiche from Africa
http://www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/indiv/africa/joebib.html
as does michigan State
http://www.lib.msu.edu/services/africana/MF.htm
and Stanford
http://searchworks.stanford.edu/?q=east+african+standard&qt=...
The chache has been updated
The chache has been updated but the search results have not yet been updated
honoluluadvertiser.com
8 Jan 2006 ... Both were born outside the country — Obama in Indonesia, Duckworth in Thailand — and graduated from high school in Honolulu — Punahou and ...
the.honoluluadvertiser.com/article/2006/.../FP601080334.html - Cached - Similar -
You can find this yourself with the following google search
"Obama in Indonesia, Duckworth in Thailand"
in other words, they're lying about the date of the edit.
as somebody has pointed out below via proof from the waybackmachine.
the editor says they "edited it in 2006," but was presumably not until 2009 did they go back and remove the reference to Indonesia.
the.honoluluadvertiser.com story archived
Here is a link to the article from the the.honoluluadvertiser.com archived back in 2006 (still showing the original text).
http://web.archive.org/web/20060207151627/the.honoluluadvert...
So I don't think it's a case of "spoofing" the real site. It looks like it is just a mirror to the www site.
Careful when you talk about spoofing
Unless youre sure you even know what it is. The story was simply edited. You have zero evidence that anything else happened.
foo:~$ host the.honoluluadvertiser.com
the.honoluluadvertiser.com has address 207.26.209.180
foo:~$ host www.honoluluadvertiser.com
www.honoluluadvertiser.com is an alias for content.gannett.edgesuite.net.
content.gannett.edgesuite.net is an alias for a1279.g.akamai.net.
[deleted].[deleted].akamai.net has address [deleted]
[deleted].[deleted].akamai.net has address [deleted]
www.honoluluadvertiser.com is an alias for content.gannett.edgesuite.net.
content.gannett.edgesuite.net is an alias for [deleted].[deleted].akamai.net.
www.honoluluadvertiser.com is an alias for content.gannett.edgesuite.net.
content.gannett.edgesuite.net is an alias for [deleted].[deleted].akamai.net.
The only domain here is honoluluadvertiser.com. www and the are just hosts. As they use Akamai I have redacted some of the output because it would reveal my location.
the.honoluluadvertiser.com simply returns a 302 to the www host.
Trying 207.26.209.180...
Connected to the.honoluluadvertiser.com.
Escape character is '^]'.
GET / HTTP/1.1
Host: the.honoluluadvertiser.com
HTTP/1.1 302 Found
Date: Sat, 17 Oct 2009 22:26:26 GMT
Server: Apache/1.3.29 (Unix) PHP/4.3.5
X-Powered-By: PHP/4.3.5
location: http://www.honoluluadvertiser.com
Transfer-Encoding: chunked
Content-Type: text/html
0
Connection closed by foreign host.
Thanks I had a hard time finding that out, that's why I called a
spoof. I also couldn't resolve the IP addresses to the same. Something must have been wrong in the way I went about it.
hah i fucked up
just noticed my attempt to sanitize my own output was an epic failure. oh well, i'm sure the bad guys already have my address anyway...
The domain names resolve
to the same ip. Is there something I'm missing here?
C:\ping the.honoluluadvisor.com
Pinging the.honoluluadvisor.com [208.73.210.27] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 208.73.210.27: bytes=32 time=164ms TTL=242
Reply from 208.73.210.27: bytes=32 time=150ms TTL=242
Reply from 208.73.210.27: bytes=32 time=155ms TTL=242
Reply from 208.73.210.27: bytes=32 time=151ms TTL=242
Ping statistics for 208.73.210.27:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 150ms, Maximum = 164ms, Average = 155ms
C:\ping www.honoluluadvisor.com
Pinging www.honoluluadvisor.com [208.73.210.27] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 208.73.210.27: bytes=32 time=151ms TTL=242
Reply from 208.73.210.27: bytes=32 time=148ms TTL=242
Reply from 208.73.210.27: bytes=32 time=153ms TTL=242
Reply from 208.73.210.27: bytes=32 time=214ms TTL=242
no, for some reason I wasn't getting those results at
first, but I am now. Sorry for the confusion.
regarding update #2
the domain name is the same for both sites - it is "honoluluadvertiser.com". the first part of that string is the name of the host/server (often times an alias to a pool of servers) that handles the web requests.
www .honoluluadvertiser.com and the.honoluluadvertiser.com are just different machines or collections of machines representing the same company.
you will see often that larger sites split up their services this way - www .yahoo.com, mail.yahoo.com, images.yahoo.com, etc. all are yahoo's properties and it is not very easy for someone to spoof within a domain.
just saying that both links are most likely legitimately from the same company.
I understand this and that is what I thought at first, but for
some reason, they were not resolving to the same IP address. They are now. Don't know what I was doing wrong.
One is likely an archive mirror of the other.
Hmmmm
http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://the.honoluluadvertiser.c...
--------------
Regarding Palin: I believe we are watching in real time the rise of the third party, which will be controlled by the powers that be from its' inception.
Next Scam: "Cash For Cash"
http://www.RonPaul2012.com
very nice...
so in 2006 they weren't worried about the truth, and then recently it starts getting hits and gets scrubbed. Just my take.
Looks like the whole thing is a scam?
This appears to be a spoof site, but other sites claim a quote by the author explaining his error.
Or were those planted too?
I'm going have a beer. Life is too short for this.
I saved the original article too
Detective Krum Investigates:
http://victory1project.wordpress.com/
http://politicaltrackingnetwork.wordpress.com/
Detective Krum Investigates:
http://victory1project.wordpress.com/
I love this saga
check your e-mail
Explore Orthodox Christianity
just looked
it changed.