Q: Do bound delegates even get to vote at all?Submitted by Minarchist on Wed, 05/30/2012 - 17:28
I've heard that bound delegates don't even vote at the convention. Instead, what happens is that each state chairman counts all the bound delegates according to how they are bound, then has the unbound delegates (including those released by candidates who dropped out) vote, and then announces the results accordingly.
AFAIK, a bound delegate does not get to vote, at least in the first round, regardless of who she or he supports, and that's not a violation of any law or rule.
Anyone know otherwise?
Best answer is from optimystic (thanks!), who points out rule 37(b) of the RNC rules:
"(b) In the balloting, the vote of each state
shall be announced by the chairman of such state’s
delegation, or his or her designee; and in case the vote
of any state shall be divided, the chairman shall
announce the number of votes for each candidate, or for
or against any proposition; but if exception is taken by
any delegate from that state to the correctness of such
announcement by the chairman of that delegation, the
chairman of the convention shall direct the roll of
members of such delegation to be called, and the result
shall be recorded in accordance with the vote of the
several delegates in such delegation."