0 votes

FAKE DONATION WEBSITE--Someone investigate this please!!

This site looks like the Ron Paul 2008 website but is not.
Be Careful and someone please investigate who owns this site.

http://www. ronpaul2008fund. com/




Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.
Son_Of_Liberty's picture

Good job!

Good job everyone. I called around to find the right place to report this, by the time I got to a live person the site was down! For future reference, ic3.gov is the official Internet Crime Complaint Center. Part of the FBI's white collar division...

--

Son_Of_Liberty (formerly known as hippychimp...)

carpe libertatem

--

Restore the Constitution! Occupy the GOP!!

Son_Of_Liberty

twitter: @uptofreedom

one more step left though

The domain name is still working even if the site is blank. Someone contact godaddy and get them to seize the name. Otherwise, that person could easily just buy new hosting and set it up again.

_______________________________________
http://www.ronpaul2008.com
Ron Paul vs. CFR - Fight of the century

REVOLUTION 1 SPOOFERS 0

WOOT! Took less than a day to shut that site down. Good work everyone!

_______________________________________
http://www.ronpaul2008.com
Ron Paul vs. CFR - Fight of the century

Campaign must call police.

I'm in Florida. I just called the Croton on Hudson Police Department in New York. They said the Ron Paul campaign would have to contact the police department there if they want to send a police officer out to bestweb.

I figured if a cop went out there to at least ask what the deal is with this Bestweb might actually do something instead of "asking the owner of the website about it".

_______________________________________
http://www.ronpaul2008.com
Ron Paul vs. CFR - Fight of the century

SHUTDOWN :)

:)

Google Checkout

Points to 837 W. Plantation Dr., Clute, TX 77531 US

Anyone close want to knock on this door?

http://www.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=837+W.+Plant...

Son_Of_Liberty's picture

Normally I wouldn't consider

Normally I wouldn't consider going this route, but this is unacceptable... What law enforcement agancy would be appropriate to contact regarding this site? the FBI?
--

Son_Of_Liberty (formerly known as hippychimp...)

carpe libertatem

--

Restore the Constitution! Occupy the GOP!!

Son_Of_Liberty

twitter: @uptofreedom

Yes, FBI

They would be the start. Maybe homeland Security (possible terrorist) This would get it shout down faster anyway.

FRAUD ALERT

there is only one place to donate:

http://www.ronpaul2008.com/

xxx.ronpaul2008fund .com has a static page and uses a google pay account. Hope no one is falling for this.

Pass this around.

FYI: Got my first call from Dr. Ron Paul encouraging me to go vote tomorrow. (Automated)

Son_Of_Liberty's picture

just spoke with someone at

just spoke with someone at BestWeb (the web host). He's received a couple of calls so far and is attempting to contact the customer who's site it is.

--

Son_Of_Liberty (formerly known as hippychimp...)

carpe libertatem

--

Restore the Constitution! Occupy the GOP!!

Son_Of_Liberty

twitter: @uptofreedom

FRAUD SITE

The Campaign must know about this, and get it shut down immediately.

It's a fraud to steal money.

The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants.

Son_Of_Liberty's picture

it's registered thru

it's registered thru godaddy, but not hosted there... I'm calling the host.

chaos: ~ # host ronpaul2008fund.com
ronpaul2008fund.com has address 209.94.123.109
ronpaul2008fund.com mail is handled (pri=0) by mail7.zoneedit.com
ronpaul2008fund.com mail is handled (pri=0) by mail6.zoneedit.com
chaos: ~ # whois -a 209.94.123.109

OrgName: BestWeb Corporation
OrgID: BWC
Address: 25 S. Riverside Ave.
City: Croton on Hudson
StateProv: NY
PostalCode: 10520
Country: US

NetRange: 209.94.96.0 - 209.94.127.255
CIDR: 209.94.96.0/19
NetName: BESTWEB-BLK-1
NetHandle: NET-209-94-96-0-1
Parent: NET-209-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: NS1.BESTWEB.NET
NameServer: NS2.BESTWEB.NET
Comment: ADDRESSES WITHIN THIS BLOCK ARE NON-PORTABLE
RegDate: 1997-07-11
Updated: 2001-05-02

RTechHandle: SD333-ARIN
RTechName: Department, Systems
RTechPhone: +1-914-271-4500
RTechEmail: systems@bestweb.net

OrgTechHandle: SD333-ARIN
OrgTechName: Department, Systems
OrgTechPhone: +1-914-271-4500
OrgTechEmail: systems@bestweb.net

# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2008-02-03 19:03
# Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.
chaos: ~ #

--

Son_Of_Liberty (formerly known as hippychimp...)

carpe libertatem

--

Restore the Constitution! Occupy the GOP!!

Son_Of_Liberty

twitter: @uptofreedom

Verisign

The data contained in GoDaddy.com, Inc.'s WhoIs database,
while believed by the company to be reliable, is provided "as is"
with no guarantee or warranties regarding its accuracy. This
information is provided for the sole purpose of assisting you
in obtaining information about domain name registration records.
Any use of this data for any other purpose is expressly forbidden without the prior written
permission of GoDaddy.com, Inc. By submitting an inquiry,
you agree to these terms of usage and limitations of warranty. In particular,
you agree not to use this data to allow, enable, or otherwise make possible,
dissemination or collection of this data, in part or in its entirety, for any
purpose, such as the transmission of unsolicited advertising and
and solicitations of any kind, including spam. You further agree
not to use this data to enable high volume, automated or robotic electronic
processes designed to collect or compile this data for any purpose,
including mining this data for your own personal or commercial purposes.

Please note: the registrant of the domain name is specified
in the "registrant" field. In most cases, GoDaddy.com, Inc.
is not the registrant of domain names listed in this database.

Registrant:
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States

Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: RONPAUL2008FUND.COM
Created on: 29-Jan-08
Expires on: 29-Jan-09
Last Updated on: 29-Jan-08

Administrative Contact:
Private, Registration RONPAUL2008FUND.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
(480) 624-2599 Fax -- (480) 624-2599

Technical Contact:
Private, Registration RONPAUL2008FUND.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
(480) 624-2599 Fax -- (480) 624-2599

Domain servers in listed order:
NS3.ZONEEDIT.COM
NS4.ZONEEDIT.COM

private registration

It's not to a godaddy site. It was simply registered with godaddy as a private registration (owner information private). You have to contact domains by proxy to find out who it is and they'll usually only give it to you if you have a warrant or affidavit. Forget it.

_______________________________________
http://www.ronpaul2008.com
Ron Paul vs. CFR - Fight of the century

northstar's picture

Hmmmm

It's a godaddy site, and the whois lookup indicates the registration is private, so we can't see who owns the domain. Definately the main HQ needs to see this, because it's basicly a clone and I highly doubt main HQ allow them to clone their site.
-
Show your support on the Ron Paul Map !
People worldwide support Dr. Paul too :-)
http://www.pollingmatrix.com

Real eyes realize real lies

2012, we want our country back

2012 is the year for Ron Paul!