Comment: The Constitution says ...

(See in situ)

In post: Common Law
In reply to comment: there is only two kinds of (see in situ)

The Constitution says ...

Article 3, Clause 2:
"The judicial Power shall extend to all Cases, in Law and Equity ... to all Cases of admiralty and maritime Jurisdiction ..."

Amendment 6 says:
"In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the right to a speedy and public trial ..."

Amendment 7 says:
"In Suits at common law, where the value in controversy shall exceed twenty dollars, the right of trial by jury shall be preserved ..."

Is equity part of Common Law? Is admiralty and maritime the same thing? Howard Freeman says there are 4 jurisdictions: common law, equity, admiralty, and maritime.

Part of the problem is that the people who wrote the Constitution understood what those terms meant, but we've been dumbed down and had terms morph over time so that the meanings are not so clear to the layman or even the lawyer or judge in many cases.

What is "the Common Law?" Is it simply court cases that show the common method of settling disputes? Is equity separate? Are court cases that specifically cite statutes also part of the common law?

What is "common law" as the founders understood it, and what is it as modern courts understand it?

Do you know? If not, who does?